DEV ONLY

Facebook Snooze will let you “turn off” annoying users for 30 days

0 65,822

Facebook Snooze will let you “turn off” annoying users for 30 days

On Facebook, there may be times when you just need a break from someone in your network, but you don’t necessarily want to ignore them forever.

Facebook first introduced the “unfollow” feature, wherein a user can tune someone out completely without the drastic step of unfriending them.  However, there may be occasions when permanently unfollowing a person is not what you want to do.

Facebook hopes to address this need with its newly announced feature, Snooze, coming within the next few days.

Facebook Snooze will let you “turn off” annoying users for 30 days

Over the next week, the company are launching Snooze, which will give you the option to temporarily unfollow a person, Page or group for 30 days. By selecting Snooze in the top-right drop-down menu of a post, you won’t see content from those people, Pages or groups in your News Feed for that time period.

The people, Pages, and groups you snooze will not be notified. You will be notified before the Snooze period is about to end and the setting can also be turned off at any time.

Shruthi Muraleedharan, Facebook Product Manager said,

“Controls for your News Feed aren’t new. With features like Unfollow, Hide, Report and See First, we’ve consistently worked toward helping people tailor their News Feed experience, so the time they spend on Facebook is time well spent. As News Feed evolves, we’ll continue to provide easy-to-use tools to give you the most personalized experience possible every time you visit Facebook.”