DEV ONLY

WhatsApp now allows users to delete sent messages

0 84,039

WhatsApp is finally bringing the ability for users to delete previously sent messages.

Users will be able to delete messages that they have either sent to a group or an individual chat and messages that have been successfully deleted in a chat will be replaced by “this message was deleted”.

Users are only able to delete messages within seven minutes of sending it.

The WhatsApp team said:

“Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat.  “This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.

“Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats.  “Similarly, if you see ‘This message was deleted’ in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.”

Deleting messages sent to everyone in WhatsApp is pretty straightforward: Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete. Tap and hold the message > choose Delete from the menu. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once. Tap Delete  > Delete for Everyone

To delete WhatsApp messages you’ve sent or received on your phone simply Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete. Tap and hold the message > choose Delete from the menu. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once. Tap Delete  > Delete for Me.

In order to use the new WhatsApp delete sent messages feature, both you and the recipient must be running latest version of WhatsApp. If you or your recipient does not have the latest version, the feature will not work.

Naturally, the feature is not a guaranteed way to make sure your recipient does not see the offending message as any recipients may see your message before it’s deleted or if the deletion was not successful.

Strangely, unsuccessful attempts to delete a WhatsApp message to everyone will not provide a notification.